Executive Order No. 292 [BOOK IV/Title III/Chapter 1-General Provisions]




General Provisions

SECTION 1. Declaration of Policy.—It is the declared policy of the State to provide the government with a principal law agency which shall be both its legal counsel and prosecution arm; administer the criminal justice system in accordance with the accepted processes thereof consisting in the investigation of the crimes, prosecution of offenders and administration of the correctional system; implement the laws on the admission and stay of aliens, citizenship, land titling system, and settlement of land problems involving small landowners and members of indigenous cultural minorities; and provide free legal services to indigent members of the society.

SECTION 2. Mandate.—The Department shall carry out the policy declared in the preceding section.

SECTION 3. Powers and Functions.—To accomplish its mandate, the Department shall have the following powers and functions:

(1) Act as principal law agency of the government and as legal counsel and representative thereof, whenever so required;

(2) Investigate the commission of crimes, prosecute offenders and administer the probation and correction system;

(3) Extend free legal assistance/representation to indigents and poor litigants in criminal cases and non-commercial civil disputes;

(4) Preserve the integrity of land titles through proper registration;

(5) Investigate and arbitrate untitled land disputes involving small landowners and members of indigenous cultural communities;

(6) Provide immigration and naturalization regulatory services and implement the laws governing citizenship and the admission and stay of aliens;

(7) Provide legal services to the national government and its functionaries, including government-owned or controlled corporations and their subsidiaries; and

(8) Perform such other functions as may be provided by law.

SECTION 4. Organizational Structure.—The Department shall consist of the following constituent units:

(1) Department proper;

(2) Office of the Government Corporate Counsel;

(3) National Bureau of Investigation;

(4) Public Attorney’s Office;

(5) Board of Pardons and Parole;

(6) Parole and Probation Administration;

(7) Bureau of Corrections;

(8) Land Registration Authority;

(9) Bureau of Immigration; and

(10) Commission on the Settlement of Land Problems.

Executive Order No. 292