Executive Order No. 292 [BOOK IV/Title III/Chapter 5-Public Attorney’s Office]


Public Attorney’s Office

SECTION 14. Public Attorney’s Office (PAO).—The Citizen’s Legal Assistance Office (CLAO) is renamed Public Attorney’s Office (PAO). It shall exercise the powers and functions as are now provided by law for the Citizen’s Legal Assistance Office or may hereafter be provided by law.

SECTION 15. Organizational Structure.—The PAO shall consist of the following constituent units:

(1) Office of the Chief Public Attorney and two (2) Deputy Chief Public Attorneys;

(2) Five (5) line divisions in the Central Office, namely: Administrative, Financial and Management, Special and Appealed Cases, Legal Research and Statistics, and Field Services Divisions; and

(3) Regional and Provincial/District Offices.

SECTION 16. The Chief Public Attorney and Other PAO Officials.—The PAO shall be headed by a Chief Public Attorney and shall be assisted by two (2) Deputy Chief Public Attorneys. Each PAO Regional Office established in each of the administrative regions of the country shall be headed by a Regional Public Attorney who shall be assisted by an Assistant Regional Public Attorney.

The Chief Public Attorney, Deputy Chief Public Attorneys, Regional Public Attorneys and Assistant Regional Public Attorneys shall be appointed by the President upon the recommendation of the Secretary.

Executive Order No. 292