The Medalya ng Katapangan (PNP Medal of Bravery) was conferred by President Benigno S. Aquino III on the fallen Special Action Force (SAF) personnel who died in Mamasapano, Maguindanao, in the necrological services held on January 30, 2015.

The decoration Medalya ng Katapangan or the PNP Medal of Bravery is the fourth highest award of the Philippine National Police, corresponding to the Gold Cross Medal of the Armed Forces of the Philippines.

It is conferred on members of the Philippine National Police who have exhibited gallantry in action. To qualify, awarded personnel must have had to face a superior enemy force in actual combat.[1] It was created on September 23, 1993, by virtue of NAPOLCOM Memorandum Circular No. 93-018, prescribing the authorized decorations, service medals, ribbons, and badges of the Philippine National Police.

Photo courtesy of the Philippine National Police.

Description of the Medal Design

The medal is in the shape of a golden spearhead pointing downward. At the center of the spearhead is a Kampilan placed vertically with the blade at the top superimposed over a sampaguita wreath. At the base of the spearhead is a space where three stars are arranged horizontally. At the back of the medal, the name, grade, and organization, as well as the place and date of the act for which the medal is awarded are engraved. The medal is suspended from a maroon silk moire ribbon 13/8 inches in width and 13/8 inches in length with three white stripe s in the center 1/16 inch wide and spaced 1/16 inch apart. The ribbon is attached to a bar with the inscription “Katapangan.”


[1] The enemy must be superior to the government troops during the actual combat by at least eight (8) but not more than twenty (20) combatants.