Executive Order No. 292 [BOOK I/Chapter 7-Regular Holidays and Nationwide Special Days]


Regular Holidays and Nationwide Special Days

SECTION 26. Regular Holidays and Nationwide Special Days.—(1) Unless otherwise modified by law, order or proclamation, the following regular holidays and special days shall be observed in this country:

(A) Regular Holidays

New Year’s Day – January 1
Maundy Thursday – Movable date
Good Friday – Movable date
Araw ng Kagitingan (Bataan and Corregidor Day) – April 9
Labor Day – May 1
Independence Day – June 12
National Heroes Day – Last Sunday of August
Bonifacio Day – November 30
Christmas Day – December 25
Rizal Day – December 30

(B) Nationwide Special Days

All Saints Day November 1
Last Day of the Year December 31

(2) The terms “legal or regular holiday” and “special holiday”, as used in laws, orders, rules and regulations or other issuances shall be referred to as “regular holiday” and “special day”, respectively.

SECTION 27. Local Special Days.—The President may proclaim any local special day for a particular date, group or place.

SECTION 28. Pretermission of Holiday.—Where the day, or the last day, for doing any act required or permitted by law falls on a regular holiday or special day, the act may be done on the next succeeding business day.

Executive Order No. 292