Administrative Order No. 47, s. 1999





WHEREAS, the February 22-25 EDSA Revolution restored democratic institutions and ushered meaningful political, social and economic reforms in the country;

WHEREAS, the triumph of this revolution was anchored upon people power, the ultimate demonstration of the citizens’ solidarity in seeking to transform Philippine society and chart a new course for the country’s history by linking arms and courageously asserting their democratic rights;

WHEREAS, the EDSA Revolution serves as our inspiration as we continue charting our collective course as a nation and a people.

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOSEPH EJERCITO ESTRADA, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Constitution of a National Committee. There is hereby constituted a National Committee for the commemoration of the 13th Anniversary of the February 22-25, 1986 EDSA Revolution which shall be chaired by Mr. Antonio Lopa with Trade and Industry Secretary Jose T. Pardo as Co-Chairman. The Undersecretary of the Department of Interior and Local Government is hereby designated as Vice-Chairperson and the following as members:

Representatives from the NGO’s/Private and Business Sector:

1. Bro. Mike Velarde
2. Mr. Christopher L. Carrion
3. Ms. Denise Mañosa
4. Msgr. Socrates Villegas
5. Ms. Victoria Garchitorena
6. Mr. Jose Concepcion, Jr.
7. Mr. Manuel Pangilinan
8. Mr. Manolo Lopez
9. Ms. Tina Monzon Palma
10. Mr. Lito Lorenzana
11. Mr. Johnny Manahan
12. Ms. Patricia Sison
13. Mr. Jose Alejandro
14. Ms. Cecille Guidote-Alvarez

Representatives from the Government Sector:

15. Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs
16. Secretary of the Department of Public Works and Highways
17. Secretary of the Department of Tourism
18. Secretary of the Department of Budget and Management
19. Secretary of the Department of National Defense
20. Secretary of the Department of Finance
21. Secretary of the Department of Education, Culture and Sports
22. Secretary of the Department of Labor and Employment
23. Secretary of the Presidential Management Staff
24. Chairman of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority
25. Chairman of the Commission on Higher Education
26. Chairman of the CORD-NCR
27. Chairperson of the National Youth Commission
28. Chairman of the Bases Conversion and Development Authority
29. Chairman of the Development Bank of the Philippines
30. Chairperson of the National Commission on the Role of Filipino Women
31. Executive Director of the National Centennial Commission
32. Executive Director of the National Historical Institute
33. National Program Director, Moral Recovery Program
34. Director General of the Public Information Agency
35. Administrator of the Philippine Overseas Employment Agency
36. Administrator of the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration
37. Director General, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority
38. President, League of Provinces of the Philippines
39. President, League of Cities of the Philippines

SECTION 2. Functions. The Committee shall have the following functions:

1. Formulate a comprehensive plan for the nationwide commemoration of the 13th Anniversary of the February 22-25, 1986 EDSA Revolution and coordinate with all sectors concerned in the implementation of the same, taking into consideration austerity measures and the spirit of volunteerism;

2. Create such working committees and designate the respective members thereof from both the private and government sectors, as may be necessary, to ensure the success of the celebration; and

3. Invite or enjoin and mobilize all sectors who would like to participate in the celebration and call upon any government instrumentality to render the necessary assistance therefor.

SECTION 3. Staff Support. The Department of Trade and Industry shall provide the technical and secretariat support of the Committee. The heads of departments, agencies, government-owned and controlled corporations and other government instrumentalities are directed to give full support to the National Committee and its various working committees and to actively participate in the celebrations.

SECTION 4. Funding. The Secretary of Budget and Management is hereby directed to allocate the amount of THREE MILLION PESOS (P3,000,000.00) to support this activity and release said amount to the Department of Trade and Industry immediately. Concerned agencies may allocate such amount as may be necessary to defray the expenditures that may be incurred from participation in the EDSA Anniversary.

This Administrative Order shall take effect immediately.

DONE in the City of Manila this 7th day of January, in the year of Our Lord, Nineteen Hundred and Ninety-Nine.

President of the Philippines

By the President:

Executive Secretary

SourcePresidential Museum and Library

Office of the President of the Philippines. (1999). [Administrative Order Nos. : 1 – 144]. Manila : Presidential Museum and Library.