Task force reactivated to ensure power for elections

The Department of Energy circular DC2016-01-0001 outlines specific duties and responsibilities of concerned national government agencies and power stakeholders, such as ensuring availability and operation of power plants and electricity market, carrying out strategic preventive maintenance of all power facilities, and providing enough technical manpower for emergency response and security of vital power infrastructures, among others.

Stock image

The task force headed by the Department of Energy (DOE) ensures that there is adequate, stable, and reliable power supply before, during, and after the national and local elections.

Meanwhile, the Independent Power Producers Association, Philippine Rural Electric Cooperatives Association, Private Electric Power Operators Association, Inc., Retail Electricity Suppliers Association, Philippine Federation of Electric Cooperatives and other associations of distribution utilities serve as supporting members. Likewise, all power suppliers and service providers (i.e., distribution utilities, electric cooperatives, and generation companies) are directed to extend full cooperation and support to the attainment of the task force’s [1] objectives.

The Election Power Task Force’s Command Centers within National Grid Corporation of the Philippines Compounds in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao are as follows:

Headquarters – Diliman, Quezon City

Satellite Centers

  • Visayas      – Banilad, Cebu City
  • Mindanao – Cagayan de Oro City

During the election period, power updates will be published through the DOE’s Twitter account (@DOE_PH), Facebook account (www.facebook.com/doe.gov.ph) and website (www.doe.gov.ph), as well as in various social networking sites of the Election Power Task Force members at a designated time in the morning, afternoon, and evening.

—From the Department of Energy

[1] Formed in 2010, the Power Task Force Core Group is composed of the DOE as head, National Electrification Administration, National Grid Corporation of the Philippines, National Power Corporation, National Transmission Corporation, Power Sector Assets & Liabilities Management Corporation, Philippine Electricity Market Corporation and Manila Electric Company as members.