Offcial Gazette


The 1986 EDSA People Power Revolution gathered millions of Filipinos from all walks of life to march along Epifanio de los Santos Avenue (EDSA), the main artery of Metro Manila, to end the dictatorship of President Ferdinand E. Marcos and begin a new era marked by true freedom and democracy. This spirit of the movement was not confined to Manila; it manifested through non-violent demonstrations staged in different cities nationwide—it was a revolution marked by its peaceful means, led by a nation united to reclaim liberty.

The events of February 25, 1986, altered the course of our nation’s history; it showcased to the world the remarkable resolve of the Filipino people. It heralded an era of peace. Over the years, we have continued to remember this momentous occasion by honoring the sacrifices of all those who fought the dictatorship.

By virtue of Proclamation No. 1071, s. 2015, February 25, 2016, is a special (non-working) holiday throughout the country in celebration of the 30th Anniversary of the 1986 EDSA People Power Revolution—the movement that “restored our democratic institution and ushered in political, social and economic reforms in the country.”


Read President Benigno S. Aquino III’s speech at the EDSA People Power Monument, on February 25, 2016:


The Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office and the Presidential Museum and Library would like to thank the following for their invaluable help and assistance in this project: Mr. Kidlat Tahimik, Ms. Leah Navarro, Ms. Loy Jurado, Mr. Kim Komenich, Mr. James Nachtwey, Mr. Christopher Morris, Mr. Roland Neveu, Mr. Jacinto Tee, Mr. Gary Majam, Bancroft Library, The James B. Reuter, S.J., Foundation, Veritas Publications and Communications Foundation, Webistan Photo Agency, TIME Magazine, Manila Bulletin, Philippine Daily Inquirer, First Quarter Storm Library, ATOM (August 21 Movement), People’s Television Network, Inc., EDSA People Power Commission, National Historical Commission of the Philippines, Commission on Human Rights, National Economic Development Authority, Bantayog ng mga Bayani Memorial Foundation, and the Presidential Commission on Good Government.