“The President and the Vice President shall be elected by direct vote of the people for a term of six years which shall begin at noon on the thirtieth day of June next following the day of the election and shall end at the same day six years thereafter.

Article VII, Section 4 of the 1987 Philippine Constitution.”

The transition formally begins when the winner of the presidential election is proclaimed by Congress. From then on, the incoming president is formally called the president-elect.

The logistical requirements of the transfer of power, coupled with the public’s high expectations of a new chief executive, create tremendous pressures on the incoming administration as far as communications and administrative and ceremonial tasks are concerned.

I. The Transition

From the time Congress proclaims a candidate the duly elected president of the Philippines, the candidate is referred to as the president-elect until his inaugural. From proclamation to inauguration, a few organizational concerns have to be considered.

II. Transition Issuances

A compilation of presidential issuances mandating the creation of a transition committee for every outgoing administration.

III. Quick facts about the Presidency

Facts about presidential privilege, the presidential paycheck, and the president’s family.

IV. The Presidential Inauguration

Inaugurations—swathed in pomp and circumstance, solemnity and ceremony—signal the assumption of the President’s stewardship of the nation that put him in power.

V. The Possession of Malacañan Palace

The ritual climbing of the stairs—symbolizing the possession of Malacañan Palace—was a tradition conscientiously began by President Manuel L. Quezon.

VI. Opening Malacañan Palace to the Public

Malacañan Palace stands as the office and the official residence of the President of the Philippines. It has been opened to the public at large.

VII. Presidency and Vice Presidency by the Numbers

Which Philippine President won by the largest margin in Philippine electoral history?

VIII. Biography

Rodrigo Roa Duterte is set to be the 16th President of the Philippines and the sixth President of the Fifth Republic.

IX. 2016 Election Results

Learn more about the results of the 2016 Philippine national elections.


The Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office (PCDSPO) would like to thank the following for their invaluable help and assistance in this project: Presidential Museum and Library, Malacañang Photo Bureau, National Library of the Philippines, and the National Economic and Development Authority.

Related Reading and Media