The Chief Justice on President Aquino’s speech at the anniversary of Tagumpay ng Bayan, February 17, 2012

Statement of Chief Justice Renato C. Corona: On President Aquino’s speech at the anniversary of Tagumpay ng Bayan [Released on February 17, 2012] Ako po ay nananawagan sa ating pangulo na huwag pakialaman, pangunahan at impluwensiyahan ang Senate Impeachment Court. Mayroon pong proseso ang impeachment proceedings, at iyan po ay nakasaad sa ating Saligang Batas […]

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo v. de Lima et al., G.R. No. 199034/Jose Miguel Arroyo v. de Lima et al., G.R. No. 199046

NOW, THEREFORE, effective immediately and continuing until further orders from this Court, You, Respondents, your agents, representatives, or persons acting in your place or stead, are hereby ENJOINED from enforcing or implementing DOJ Department Circular No. 41 and Watchlist Order Nos. ASM-11-237 dated August 9, 2011, 2011-422 dated September 6, 2011 and 2011-573 dated October 27, 2011.

League of Cities v. COMELEC, G.R. No. 176951, February 15, 2011

WHEREFORE, the Motion for Reconsideration of the “Resolution” dated August 24, 2010, dated and filed on September 14, 2010 by respondents Municipality of Baybay, et al. is GRANTED. The Resolution dated August 24, 2010 is REVERSED and SET ASIDE. The Cityhood Laws—Republic Acts Nos. 9389, 9390, 9391, 9392, 9393, 9394, 9398, 9404, 9405, 9407, 9408, 9409, 9434, 9435, 9436, and 9491—are declared CONSTITUTIONAL.

Biraogo v. Philippine Truth Commission of 2010, G.R. No. 192935, December 7, 2010

WHEREFORE, the petitions are GRANTED. Executive Order No. 1 is hereby declared UNCONSTITUTIONAL insofar as it is violative of the equal protection clause of the Constitution. As also prayed for, the respondents are hereby ordered to cease and desist from carrying out the provisions of Executive Order No. 1.